Analysis. History. Perspective.

Sports Then and Now

Even Without USA, Soccer World Cup Is a Global Event

Posted on May 28, 2018 by Dean Hybl

2018 FIFA World Cup As has been the case for every FIFA Men’s Soccer World Cup since the tournament was first held in 1930, the United States will not win the 2018 championship. Of course, the reason we can definitively say that more than two weeks before the start of the tournament is because for the first time since 1986 the USA did not qualify.

Known across the rest of the world as football, even without the United States as a competitor, the 2018 World Cup will captivate audiences across the globe. One of the most popular betting events in the world, millions will be paying attention to football betting options as they look to identify the winner of the 2018 World Cup.

Being held in Russia for the first time ever, the FIFA World’s Cup will surely be the center of interest in the sports world from the first match on June 14th through the championship on July 15th.

For many years, the World Cup was dominated by South American countries, with a total of nine titles between 1930 and 2002 (five by Brazil and two each by Uruguay and Argentina). However, the last three titles have been claimed by European countries to push the total number for Europe to 11 (four by Germany and Italy with one each by England, France and Spain).

After claiming the 2014 title, their first since 1990, Germany will look to match Brazil for the most World Cup championships in 2018. They are considered one of the tournament favorites, but given that no country has repeated as World Cup champions since Brazil in 1958 and 1962, it will certainly be a tough task.

Brazil, which finished fourth in 2014 and has not won the title since 2002 is considered by many to be poised to regain the title this year.

Despite having one of the top players in the world in Lionel Messi and reaching the finals in 2014, Argentina had a tough path to return to the World Cup. They could certainly get hot and contend for the title, but many experts believe they are a long-shot.

Spain, which claimed the 2010 title, could be a sleeper with Sergio Ramos, Isco and Andres Iniesta among their top players.

Even with perhaps the most famous player in today’s game in Cristiano Ronaldo, European champion Portugal has not been given a lot of chance to win their first World Cup.

Regardless of which country ends up hoisting the 2018 World Cup, the month-long tournament promises to be exciting and will certainly provide many great stories and moments.

Leave a Reply

  • Current Poll

    Sorry, there are no polls available at the moment.
  • Post Categories

↑ Top